Enugu CP decorates 8 newly-promoted officers, urges high sense of responsibility


The Commissioner of Police in Enugu State, CP Kanayo Uzuegbu, has decorated eight newly-promoted police officers to their new ranks of Superintendents of Police (SP) from the ranks of Deputy Superintendents of Police (DSP).

Addressing the officers during the decoration on Wednesday in Enugu, Uzuegbu noted that promotion engenders the motivation to work harder.

The commissioner charged them to see their promotion as an opportunity to take higher responsibility and exhibit higher levels of wisdom in the discharge of their duties.

He said: “I congratulate you on your promotion. But you must know that the higher the rank, the greater the responsibilities and wisdom required to function at that rank.

“Therefore, you must be more careful, show higher levels of wisdom, and always act in line with the existing laws and ethical codes of the Nigeria Police Force.”

The Deputy Commissioners of Police in-charge of the Department of Operations and the State CID, DCP Olasoji Akinbayo and DCP Adebowale Lawal respectively, took turns to congratulate the newly-decorated.

They charged the newly-decorated officers to be more responsible and live up to the responsibilities of their new ranks.

“You have to be alive to your duties and live up to desired expectations,” they said.

Responding on behalf of the newly-decorated officers, SP Patrick Anike, thanked the Police Service Commission and the Inspector-General of Police for finding them worthy of the promotion.

Anike, who is a Divisional Crime Officer in 9th Mile Police Division,
appreciated the commissioner for his support and words of encouragement.

“I will assure you that we will redouble our efforts and be responsible and responsive to the demands of our new ranks,” he said.

Those newly-decorated to the new rank of Superintendent of Police (SP) included: Rita Iroegbu, Officer-in Charge of the Command’s Communications Unit; and Bethel Chinyere, Administrative Officer in Explosive Ordinance Disposal (EOD)/Bomb Squad Base 3 Enugu.

Others are: Alele Ann, Divisional Traffic Officer in Awkunanaw Police Division; Ohakwe Ikechukwu, second-in-command in SWAT Tactical Squad of the Command; and Julius Musa, Administrative Officer Special Protection Unit (SPU) Base 21 Enugu.

The rest are: Hanis Micah, Divisional Crime Officer in Amechi-Idodo Division; and Ojo Odion serving in the Counter Terrorism Unit (CTU) Base 10 Enugu.

The event was witnessed by the spouses, friends, and close associates of the newly-promoted officers.

Scroll to Top